Good luck to our own team member for his Ride100 on Sunday

Good luck to our own CAFOD worker and Dad, James Marchant, from Billinghurst, who will cycle 100 miles as part of London’s Prudential Ride 100, on Sunday, in memory of his Mum, Felicity.

See our A-Z of fundraising ideas for CAFOD

 This will be the second time James has completed the race, last time James raised over £1100 for CAFOD. This year James has already raised over 30% of his target, despite injuring his back and getting his training off to a late start.

To sponsor James visit:  https://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/JamesMarchant2016

Organise your own sponsored event for CAFOD

James has worked with us for 9 years and is now the Deputy Head for Africa – during his time working for CAFOD, James has visited many projects overseas.James cycled the Prudential RideLondon for CAFOD (002)

James said: “I have had the privilege to visit CAFOD funded projects and have seen real benefits for poor people overseas. This year I am riding in memory of my intrepid mum, Felicity who died this year aged 94, at Wotton Under Edge. Mum cared passionately about people’s rights and the natural environment, all her life.

“Although I don’t remember Mum cycling in my lifetime, I do have a photo of her on a bike as a girl. She took a keen interest in CAFOD and was passionate about making the world a better place.

“This will be the furthest I have ever cycled, although I did complete the same route two years ago it was shortened by 9 miles because of hideous weather on the day. Cycling on my 32-year-old Dawes Galaxy touring bike, newly dusted down and serviced, I’m sure it will also be the longest ride of its life!

To sponsor James visit:  https://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/JamesMarchant2016

“Hopefully the weather will be better this year. I Have to be careful as I injured my back a few weeks ago. Training did get off to a little bit of a late start, but I have managed a few rides over the past few weeks.

IMG_20160724_160959132_HDRJames will be cycling alongside ex-CAFOD staff, Ivan Kent, who is also fundraising for CAFOD. Thanks Ivan!

Organise your own sponsored event for CAFOD

James added: “My fundraising is gathering momentum, so a massive thank-you to friends, family and members of my parish who have donated and supported me so far.”

To sponsor James visit:  https://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/JamesMarchant2016

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

