CAFOD’s James Marchant cycled in the Prudential RideLondon. Here, James speaks of his experience:

CAFOD’s James Marchant cycled in the Prudential RideLondon to fundraise for our work with communities thousands of miles further away. Here, James speaks of his experience:

Well, I did it. And the West Sussex Gazette published an article about me, so I’m famous too!

James Marchant cycling the Prudential RideLondon for CAFOD

The weather was hideous for much of the ride. A particular low point was queuing up on foot in puddles of torrential rain through Richmond Park as they cleared injured riders from the road. I also felt the full force of Hurricane Bertha as I pedalled up Whitehall towards the finish line on The Mall. The sun did come out for a delicious moment or two through the Surrey Hills, drying me out nicely in time to stop and meet my family in Dorking before getting drenched again in Leatherhead!

It was brilliant cycling through London streets without having to stop at red lights and along dual carriageways with no traffic. Bystanders turned out to cheer all along the route even in the downpours. Lots of high five moments shared with kids along the way. 

I was completely shattered by the time I reached the finish line on The Mall, yet once the pressure was off it was strange that after a few minutes to collect myself I had no problem getting back on the bike and pedalling the familiar route across Lambeth bridge past the CAFOD office to the Elephant and down to Camberwell.

Thanks to all your donations I’ve so far raised £930 for CAFOD’s work – over 200% of my target. With a few promises still to come in, I’m hopeful we might just reach four figures!

Sponsor James >>

Thank you to everyone who has supported me through this event!

James

Our thanks go to James for his dedication, the sponsorship and the sterling work he does for CAFOD day-in, day-out.

Inspired? Sign up to an event with CAFOD! >>

Leave a Reply

